The SpeedSport Scholarship programme is the most successful programme for young driver development in New Zealand. The annual SpeedSport Scholarship provides the winner with a entry programme into single-seater racing with a fully funded drive in the New Zealand Formula First championship with the championship winning Sabre Motorsport team.

Founded in 2000 as a partnership between Sabre Motorsport and NZ SpeedSport magazine, the annual Scholarship has launched the careers of some of New Zealand’s best young motor racing drivers. With the demise of SpeedSport magazine in 2010, the programme continues on with support from our sponsors and ‘Friends of the Scholarship’.